

City of Deer Park

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: APT 16-014 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Appointment Status: Agenda Ready

File created: 10/19/2016 In control: Deer Park Community Development Corporation

On agenda: 10/24/2016 Final action:

Title: Announcement of re-appointments to the Board of Directors

Sponsors: City Manager's Office

Indexes:

Code sections: Attachments:

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

Announcement of re-appointments to the Board of Directors

Summary:

The Deer Park City Council appoints a board of seven (7) directors of the Deer Park Community Development Corporation. On June 2, 2015 City Council approved Ordinance 3723 appointing 7 members to the Deer Park Community Development Corporation for a term of one or two years. The 7 appointees were: Sue Mauk, T. J. Haight, Scott Sotelo, Jeff Lawther, Doug Burgess, Brad Wells, and Georgette Ford. The Council did not specify which members would have one or two year terms. On August 18, 2015 the DPCDC held its organizational meeting, approved bylaws, elected officers and drew lots to select positions on the Board pursuant to Sec. 2.1 of the Board bylaws which states:

"2.1 Number, Appointment, and Term of Office. The business and affairs of the corporation shall be managed by a board of seven (7) directors (the "Board"). Directors shall be appointed by the City Council, and at least three (3) directors must not be employees, officers, or members of the City Council. Each member of the Board shall serve at the pleasure of the City Council for a term of two years. Places 1, 3, 5, and 7 will be appointed in odd- numbered years, and Places 2, 4, and 6 appointed in even numbered years. The initial directors shall draw lots to determine places. Terms begin on October 1 of each year."

The places drawn were as follows: Sue Mauk, Position 1; T. J. Haight, Position 2; Scott Sotelo, Position 3; Jeff Lawther, Position 4; Doug Burgess, Position 5; Brad Wells, Position 6 and Georgette Ford, Position 7. This means that T.J.Haight, Position 2; Jeff Lawther, Position 4 and Brad Wells, Position 6 drew for one year terms, which were up for appointment effective October 1, 2016. At the October 18, 2016 City Council meeting the Council re-appointed T.J. Haight, Position 2, Jeff Lawther, Position 4, and Brad Wells, Position 6, as members of the Deer Park Community Development Corporation for a term of two years. The right to terminate the aforesaid appointments is reserved by the City Council, and may be exercised by it at its will, with or without good cause pursuant to Section 2.2 of the DPCDC Bylaws.

File #: APT 16-014, Version: 1

Fiscal/Budgetary Impact:

N/A

No action needed. Announcement only.