

Legislation Text

File #: ORD 16-098, Version: 1

Consideration of and action on an ordinance appointing three members of the Crime Control and Prevention District of the City of Deer Park.

Summary:

The State statute (Crime Control and Prevention District Act) which enables creation of a CCPD also specifies the manner in which appointments to the board of directors are to be made. The 2-year terms of Roy Roberts, Shannon Burke, and Bob Hotten expired effective September 1, 2016. All three members have been contacted and each has indicated willingness to serve another term. Section 363.1015 (b) and (c) of Chapter 363 of the Texas Local Government Code states:

(b) the governing body of the municipality or county may create a board by having each member of the governing body appoint one director to the board, subject to confirmation by the governing body.

(c) A director appointed under Subsection (b) serves:

(1) at the pleasure of the governing body of the municipality or county; and

(2) for a term concurrent with the term of the appointing member.

Pursuant to the foregoing, Roy Roberts, appointed by Councilmember Patterson; and Shannon Burke, appointed by Councilmember Martin; and Bob Hotten appointed by Councilmember Sinor are each hereby requested to be confirmed by the City Council as members of the Crime Control and Prevention District for a term of two years.

Fiscal/Budgetary Impact:

N/A

Approve the ordinance.