

City of Deer Park

710 E San Augustine Deer Park TX 77536

Legislation Text

File #: OFC 18-001, Version: 1

Election of President of the CCPD Board of Directors.

Summary:

Board president Shannon Burke and her family have recently relocated outside the city limits of the City of Deer Park. Since State law (Chapter 363 of the Texas Local Government Local - the Crime Control and Prevention District Act) requires that board members be residents of the district, Mrs. Burke has resigned from the board.

Sec. 363.103.of the Crime Control and Prevention District Act states the following:

OFFICERS. (a) The board shall elect from among its members a president and vice president. The board shall appoint a secretary. The secretary need not be a director. The person who performs the duties of auditor for the political subdivision shall serve as treasurer for the district.

- (b) Each officer of the board serves for a term of one year.
- (c) A vacancy in a board office shall be filled for the unexpired term by the board.

Therefore, the board should elect a new president who shall serve the remainder of the Mrs. Burke's term as President of the Board, which is October 2018.

Fiscal/Budgetary Impact:

N/A

Elect a new president who shall serve the remainder of the Mrs. Burke's term as President of the Board, which is October 2018.