

City of Deer Park

Legislation Text

File #: ORD 18-071, Version: 1

Consideration of and action on an ordinance appointing three members of the Fire Control, Prevention and Emergency Medical Services District of the City of Deer Park.

Summary:

The State statute (Fire Control, Prevention, and Emergency Medical Services District Act) which enables creation of a FCPEMSD also specifies the manner in which appointments to the board of directors are to be made. The 2-year terms of Sam Pipkin, Michael Records, and Jason Karr expire effective September 1, 2018. Mr. Pipkin and Mr. Records have been contacted and have indicated willingness to serve another term.

Section 344.101(f) of Chapter 344 of the Texas Local Government Code states:

"In a district for which the governing body of the municipality does not serve as the district's board of directors, the governing body may create a board of directors for which one director is appointed by each member of the governing body to serve at the pleasure of that member for a term not to exceed two years and that expires when the member of the governing body that appointed the director leaves office."

Pursuant to the foregoing statute: Sam Pipkin is appointed by Councilmember Patterson, Michael Records is appointed by Councilmember Martin, and Brent Hahn is appointed by Councilmember Sinor.

Fiscal/Budgetary Impact:

N/A

Approve the ordinance.