

City of Deer Park

Legislation Text

File #: APT 18-009, Version: 1

Announcement of appointments to the Board of Directors.

Summary:

The Deer Park City Council appoints a board of seven (7) directors of the Deer Park Community Development Corporation. The Corporation bylaws state:

"2.1 Number, Appointment, and Term of Office. The business and affairs of the corporation shall be managed by a board of seven (7) directors (the "Board"). Directors shall be appointed by the City Council, and at least three (3) directors must not be employees, officers, or members of the City Council. Each member of the Board shall serve at the pleasure of the City Council for a term of two years. Places 1, 3, 5, and 7 will be appointed in odd- numbered years, and Places 2, 4, and 6 appointed in even numbered years. The initial directors shall draw lots to determine places. Terms begin on October 1 of each year."

The 2-year terms that expired on September 30, 2018 were: Position 2 (T.J. Haight), Position 4 (Jeff Lawther), and Position 6 (Brad Wells).

On October 16, 2018, the Deer Park City Council re-appointed T.J. Haight to Position 2, and Jeff Lawther to Position 4. In addition, Laura Hicks was appointed to Position 6.

The right to terminate the previously mentioned appointments is reserved by the City Council, and may be exercised by it at its will, with or without good cause pursuant to Section 2.2 of the DPCDC Bylaws.

Fiscal/Budgetary Impact:

N/A

Announcement of appointments: T.J. Haight - Position 2, Jeff Lawther - Position 4 and Laura Hicks - Position 6.

No action needed.